In the late 1880s, a group of Methodists living in the area known as Flatbush Heights held cottage prayer meetings and, later, religious services in Synder’s Hall on Grant Street in Flatbush. The society was incorporated in July 1889, and organized on August 20, 1889, with C.E. Staanard elected president.
A building site on the southwest corner of Fenimore Street and Rogers Avenue was purchased, and the ground was broken for a frame building on September 10, 1889. The completed church, built and furnished at a cost of $6,500, was dedicated on May 11, 1890. The Rev. James L. Hall was the first pastor of the society known as Fenimore Street Methodist Episcopal Church. In 1896, the church was enlarged at a cost of $9,000.
Over the years, the church has adapted to the changing demographics of the neighborhood. In 1968, the Rev. William J. Smart became the congregation’s first black minister, and in 2002, the Rev. Dr. Maxine Nixon was appointed Fenimore’s first female minister. Following the merger in 1968 of the Methodist and Evangelical United Brethren denominations, the congregation has been known as the Fenimore Street United Methodist Church. Reverend Dr. Ivan J. Roberts’ guided the first “rally of nations”. Our first female pastor, the Reverend Dr. Maxine Nixon, 2002 to present, initiated many new ministries, and a second successful “rally of the nations”. The church currently enjoys six choirs, a vibrant dance ministry, singles ministry, and a Disciple Bible Study. The various cultures of the church and community are reflected in our congregation. As you can see our church has been a vibrant force in this community for over 130 years.